menu ☰ menu search

Texel, the Largest Dutch Wadden island

Texel

Right off the coast of North-Holland is Texel, the largest of the five Dutch Wadden Islands. Due to its size and in particular its variedness, this island offers pure enjoyment. Firstly, there is the island’s enormous variety in natural beauty. It is not without a reason that a large part of the island has been declared a national park. However, Texel is also the right place in terms of atmosphere. The island is home to pleasant towns wherein you can stroll around, shop, relax on a cafĂ© terrace and treat yourself in one of the many restaurants.

Texel

The island has seven towns, Den Burg being its ‘capital’. An extensive network of bicycle paths connects these towns to each other and traverses the many natural reserves. You can leave your car be during your stay, for the island is easy to explore by bike.

Beaches

Texel

All of Texel’s beaches are situated on the western side of the eiland. In total, the beach is about 30 kilometres in length. Choose your favourite spot; there is the liveliness of De Koog and the peace and vastness of De Hors on the southern tip. The beaches are clean and have water suitable for swimming, are supervised and have excellent facilities. At many of Texel’s beach pavilions, you can rent beach chairs and loungers. Or are you looking for more sensation? The beach is the ideal spot for flying a kite, going wind and kite surfing or going land sailing.

Texel

The beach near De Koog is the most popular. The supervised portions of the beach near De Koog are at posts 17, 19, 20 and 21. Most pavilions and other facilities can be found in these areas. You are allowed to swim anywhere, except in the area between post 31 and 33. This area has a strong current. The beach near De Koog is easily reachable on foot. If you take the bus to the beach from Den Burg, you are able to get off close to the beach at De Koog. From the town, the beach is only two dune ridges away. On Texel, the sections of the beach are marked by numbered posts. The beach at post 20 is closest to the bus stop in De Koog.

Texel

Are you feeling like flying a kite? Then you should head to Den Hoorn, which is north of De Koog en near De Cocksdorp. In the summer, beach and cross country walks are organised weekly by the local sports clubs of De Koog, De Cocksdorp and Den Hoorn.

Villages

Texel

Are you looking for a nice atmosphere? For shopping, going out, hanging out or going to a restaurant? Texel has a varied landscape with towns like De Koog, De Cocksdorp, De Waal, Den Burg, Den Hoorn and Oosterend. In these towns you’ll find cozy cafes, restaurants, terraces and nice shops. In and around the towns are many hotels and holiday homes. The largest town is Den Burg, which could almost be called a small city. De Koog is a real, touristic seaside town, while the smallest town, De Waal, exudes a kindly peace. Oudeschild is a typical port town. Oosterend and Den Hoorn are downright quaint. And whatever you do, do not skip De Cocksdorp on your way to the lighthouse, as it has many shops and restaurants.

Sightseeing

Texel

Texel’s entire system of dunes and the beaches at the southern and northern tips belong to the Duinen van Texel national park. The natural reserve has many hiking and bicycle paths that meander through the woods and dunes around De Koog. The nice hiking paths in the dunes are marked by yellow posts. Besides high dunes, you will also find dune lakes that are home to many birds and the vast, flat landscape of the Slufter. In the 19th century, a part of the dune system was destroyed, which causes the sea to encroach on the land in the form of creeks even today. In this natural reserve, you will encounter many birds and special plants. The dune lakes of the De Muy area form a nesting spot for spoonbills and cormorants, which is why it is closed to visitors from the first of March to mid-August.

Texel

Apart from the natural assets, perhaps the island’s most well-known attraction is the seal centre, EcoMare. Here, you can learn a myriad of things about the nature on Texel, the Wadden area and the North Sea, and about man’s influence on the area.

In terms of sightseeing, Texel also has other great things to offer, such as the Texel beer brewery and the Maritime and Beachcombing Museum in Oudeschild. Texel is also home to the Aviation and War Museum, which is highly interesting. On the northernmost tip of Texel stands the lighthouse Eierland. Texel’s Wadden Sea harbour at Oudeschild is also worth a trip, with its fishing ships and yachts.

Texel in numbers

Population:
±13.500
Residences:
7
Area:
170 km²
Length max.:
24,7 km
Width max.:
9,5 km
Highest point:
NAP +24,3 m; Loodsmansduin bij Den Hoorn
Beach length:
30 km
Biking Trails:
135 km
 

Surroundings

Texel means hiking and cycling. You will find a great number of marked hiking trails, which will often lead you past the most beautiful pieces of nature. The 135 kilometre Texelpad, which will take you around the entire island, constitutes a challenge. Cycling is also an excellent way to explore the island. There are wonderful bike trails; the path along the Waddendijk, on the sea side, for example, is one that comes recommended.

The variedness of Texel’s natural surroundings is unmatched. Dunes, forests, moorlands, beaches, mudflats, hills; these can all be found here. Some unique locations are the Texel dune system, the immense sandy flats of De Hors, and the De Slufter dune valley, where many salt-loving plants grow because of the water from the North Sea that flows into it. These are all designated national parks.

Because of the enormous amount of migrant birds, Texel boasts one of the largest varieties of bird species in the world. The ‘tuinwallen’ are typical of Texel. These were originally building plots, and are now home to a large amount of protected plant and animal species. The large flocks of sheep are equally remarkable: in the spring, the island swarms with lambs.

Tips

Nederlands  Deutsch  English  Français

menu menu

Texel, der größte niederländische Wattenmeer Insel

Texel

Direkt vor der Küste von Nord-Holland ist Texel, die größte der fünf niederländischen Nordseeinseln. Aufgrund Ihrer Größe und vor allem ihrer Vielfalt bietet diese Insel viel Unterhaltung. Erstens, wegen der riesigen Vielfalt an Naturschönheiten. Nicht umsonst ist ein wesentlicher Teil der Insel zum Nationalpark erklärt worden. Aber auch im Hinblick auf die Gemütlichkeit wählen Sie den richtigen Ort mit Texel. Die Insel verfügt über charmante Dörfer, wo Sie spazieren gehen, einkaufen und auf einer schöne Terrasse der vielen Restaurants sitzen können.

Texel

Die Insel hat sieben Dörfer, Den Burg ist die "Hauptstadt". Ein umfangreiches Radwegnetz verbindet die Dörfer miteinander und durchquert die vielen Naturschutzgebiete. Sie können Ihr Auto während Ihres Aufenthalts geparkt lassen, während Sie die Insel einfach mit dem Fahrrad erkunden.

Strand

Texel

Die Strände von Texel sind alle auf der Westseite der Insel. Insgesamt ist der Strand ca. 30 km lang. Wählen Sie Ihren Lieblingsabschnitt von De Koog mit viel Trubel bis zu dem Frieden und der Weite in De Hors an der Südspitze. Saubere Strände mit gutem Schwimmwasser und von Rettungsschwimmern bewacht ... In vielen Strandpavillons auf Texel können Sie Strandkörbe und Liegen mieten. Mögen Sie noch mehr Spektakel? Dieser Strand ist der Ort, um Kiten, Windsurfen, Kite-Surfen und Strandsegeln zu lernen.

Texel

Am beliebtesten ist der Strand von De Koog. Der bewachte Strandbereich von De Koog ist bei Pfahl 17, 19, 20 und 21. Hier sind auch die Strand Pavillons und anderen Einrichtungen. Sie können überall, aber nicht zwischen den Pfosten 31 und 33 schwimmen. Dort gibt es eine starke Strömung. Der Strand von De Koog ist leicht zu Fuß zu erreichen. Wenn Sie aus dem Ort Den Burg mit dem Bus zum Strand fahren, können Sie in De Koog nahe dem Strand aussteigen. Der Strand ist nur zwei Reihen von Dünen vom Resort entfernt. Auf Texel sind die Teile des Strandes von nummerierten Pfählen gekennzeichnet. An der Bushaltestelle am De Koog Strand ist Pfahl (Paal) 20 am nächsten.

Texel

Möchten Sie Kiten? Dann sollten Sie nach Den Hoorn, nördlich von De Koog und De Cocksdorp gehen. Im Sommer gibt es wöchentliche Strand- und Dünenwanderungen von den Sportvereinen in De Koog, De Cocksdorp und Den Hoorn organisiert.

Dörfer

Texel

Sie sind gerne gesellig? Gehen Sie gerne einkaufen, bummeln gerne und gehen gerne in ein Restaurant? Texel bietet Ihnen viel Abwechslung mit Dörfern wie De Koog, De Cocksdorp, De Waal, Den Burg, Den Hoorn und Oosterend. In diesen Orten finden Sie Cafés, Restaurants, Bars und Geschäfte. In und um diese Dörfer herum gibt es viele Hotels und Ferienhäuser. Das Größte ist Den Burg, fast eine Stadt. De Koog ist ein echtes Resort, während das kleinste Dorf, De Waal, ein Ort mit wohlwollender Ruhe ist. Ein echtes Hafendorf ist Oudeschild. Oosterend und Den Hoorn sind ganz besonders malerisch. Und unter dem Leuchtturm in De Cocksdorp gibt es viele Geschäfte und Restaurants.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Texel

Das ganze Dünengebiet von Texel vom Strand am südlichen Ende bis zum Norden der Insel gehört zu dem Dünennationalpark von Texel. Im Park finden Sie viele Wander- und Radwege durch die Wälder und Dünen rund um De Koog. Die schönen Wanderwege in den Dünen sind durch gelbe Pfähle markiert. Neben hohen Dünen finden Sie auch Dünenseen mit vielen Vögeln und die große flache Landschaft De Slufter. Im 19. Jahrhundert ein Teil der Dünen von der Brandung hinweggefegt und das Meer fließt noch durch Bäche auf der Insel. In diesem Park finden Sie eine Vielzahl von Vögeln und seltenen Pflanzen. Der Dünensee De Muy ist eine Brutstätte der Löffler und Kormorane, und ist daher zwischen dem 1. März und Mitte August geschlossen.

Texel

Neben der Natur die bekannteste Sehenswürdigkeit ist vielleicht das Seehunde Zentrum EcoMare. Hier können Sie viel über die Natur auf Texel, das Wattenmeer und die Nordsee und den Einfluss des Menschen in diesem Bereich lernen.

Darüber hinaus gibt es auf Texel viele andere interessante Sehenswürdigkeiten, wie die Texel-Brauerei und das Maritime- und Strandsammlermuseum in Oudeschild. Es gibt auch ein Flieger & Kriegsmuseum auf der Insel, das sehr interessant ist. In der oberen Spitze des Texel ist der Leuchtturm Eilerland. Der Hafen von Texel in Oudeschild am Wattenmeer mit seinen Fischerbooten und Jachten ist sehenswert.

Texel in Zahlen

Bevölkerung:
±13.500
Wohnplätze:
7
Flächeninhalt:
170 km²
Länge max.:
24,7 km
Breite max.:
9,5 km
Höchster Punkt:
NAP +24,3 m; Loodsmansduin bij Den Hoorn
Strand Länge:
30 km
Radwege:
135 km
 

Umwelt

Texel bedeutet Wandern und Radfahren. Hier finden Sie eine große Anzahl von markierten Wanderwegen, oft in der prächtigsten Natur. Eine Herausforderung ist der 135 km lange Texelpfad, der Sie rund um die Insel führt. Auch mit dem Fahrrad kann man die Insel gut erkunden. Es gibt schöne Radwege, einer zum Beispiel der Radweg auf der seewärtigen Seite des Wattendeichs.

Die Natur auf Texel ist unglaublich vielfältig. Wälder, Heide, Polder, Strand, Watt, Hügel - hier werden Sie hier alles finden. Einmalig - und deshalb zum Nationalpark erklärt - sind die Texel Dünen, die immense Sandfläche De Hors und das Dünental Der Slufter, wo das Nordsee Wasser bei Flut Inland strömt und viele salzliebende Pflanzen wachsen.

Wegen der großen Zahl von Zugvögeln hat Texel hat eine der größten Mengen von Vogelarten in der Welt. Typisch für Texel sind die Grassodenwälle. Diese Urlandschaft enthält eine große Anzahl von geschützten Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Auffällig sind die vielen Schafe im Frühling und es wimmelte dann mit Lämmern.

Tipps

Nederlands  Deutsch  English  Français 
nutzungsbedingungen   |   datenschutzerklärung   |   copyright © 1998 - 2014 Texel.de ™